Keds Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Keds
Shop Royal Throwback or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Royal Lo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Keds.

Royal Lo

Introduced in 1949, the Royal was the original basketball style created by PRO-Keds. Known for its distinctive navy and red "powerstripes" and its thicker sole, it was endorsed by many basketball greats and playground legends. By the late 1970's, the Royal aka ("Super PRO-Ked") became the first classic sneaker on and off the courts of NYC.
Overall Rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 out of 40(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Royal Lo
Review 1 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Cambridge, Ma
Size and Width Purchased: 8.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love these sneakers

PostedJuly 1, 2013
My Description: sexy
Size and Width Purchased: 8.5M
These were my favorites when I was a kid but my parents could not afford them. It wasn't until I got my first paper route that I was able to buy my first pair. At the time I bought orange ones because they matched my Little League uniform. They are such great sneakers and my girlfriend thinks the Celtic green is fabulous. Looking to get a pair of red ones.
Love these sneakers. Brings me back to my childhood.
Review 2 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
1 Size Too Small
Width: 
Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Not the same but still great

PostedJune 23, 2013
My Description: great
I had a pair of Prokeds about 6 years ago from a different factory, and although they looked identical to the ones I received last week, they were substantially heavier and more sturdy.
STILL, the new ones have a great style and are better built than Converse. Get them, you won't be disappointed!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: New Hampshire
Size and Width Purchased: 11M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Old School style and comfort!

PostedJune 19, 2013
My Description: authentic, old school, time machines
Size and Width Purchased: 11M
Purchased 2 pairs of the Royal Lo canvas and couldn't be happier. The construction of the rubber sole pieces are spaced perfectly all around and the alignment of the canvas upper is centered properly. They are true to size for my medium width foot and are very light and comfortable. The only thing different form the ones I bought in the 70's is the color of the label on the rear of the sole; now white vs. then blue. The look and style is unbeatable, instantly turning me into Bob Love on the blacktop; or so I'd like to think.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: San Francisco,Ca
Size and Width Purchased: 9 1/2 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Ole Skool

PostedJune 5, 2013
My Description: they're dope, pro keds, are sic
Size and Width Purchased: 9 1/2 M
Great Shoes Style ,Comfort, When I was a kid it was a big thing to get Pro Keds ,Guess what It Still Is !! The only difference is now I can afford a closet full ,lol but I'm not as rough on them as when I was youngster ,so they'll last way longer now..
Review 5 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Houston
Size and Width Purchased: 5
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Bring These Back

PostedMay 16, 2013
My Description: wanted
Size and Width Purchased: 5
I just called to see if I could find a pair of white in my size and was told that they are being discontinued...I wore these as a child in the 70's and 80's and loved them. Need a size 5 or 5.5 as I am female. Please make more!!!!!!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: New York
Size and Width Purchased: 10M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Exactly what I wanted

PostedMay 10, 2013
Size and Width Purchased: 10M
I debated over a year to order the navy blue royal lo as I had concerns about size. Took a chance and ordered 1/2 size up and could not be happier with my purchase. Completely satisfied with cost, time of delivery, customer service, and product.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Philadelphia, PA
Size and Width Purchased: 8.5M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

So Excited

PostedApril 8, 2013
My Description: nice!
Size and Width Purchased: 8.5M
My sister and I were so excited when we realized we could get some Keds. It was and now is one of the best sneaks out there, now if you could get me a white pair of royal lo I'll be in business...
Thanks for bringing them back!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: North. Charleston sc
Size and Width Purchased: 10/m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Excellent

PostedApril 2, 2013
Size and Width Purchased: 10/m
I love my new sneakers. They are just what I wanted
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Bronx, NY
Size and Width Purchased: 13
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Value

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Size and Width Purchased: 13
My husband had a Great big smile on his face when the package was delivered. (Brought back memories)
He wears a size 13 and the Keds are Slightly Narrow, he will have to break them in before they are truly confortable to Rock...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Houma, LA
Size and Width Purchased: 13.0 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Best Quality/Comfort for the money

PostedMarch 27, 2013
My Description: testimony, long term use
Size and Width Purchased: 13.0 M
I bought & wore Pro-Keds as a teenager in the 70's. When Keds stopped making the product, I tried multiple other brands and never found anything to compare with comfort. I wrote and looked for Pro-Keds for years. Finally, seeing them available thrilled my heart. I immediately introduced my girls to Pro-Keds, they wore them as the red matched their school uniforms. These are the most comfortable and best shoe I've ever owned. Thank you Keds. Keep offering them in more colors and materials.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
bamabeachbum
From: greenville,al
comfort/quality and style
Posted April 12, 2013
these were the first pair sneakers I owned in high school in the 70s.And wore them until they stopped making them.But thankfully their back and now my kid can rock them with me.(lovem)
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Harper, Ks.
Size and Width Purchased: 7.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great shoe!

PostedMarch 18, 2013
My Description: comfy
Size and Width Purchased: 7.5
I love them, thanks Ked's. These shoe's come in the perfect size and they fit comfortably and after a few days they fit even more comfortably, they come out of the box perfectly laced up ready to wear, and I am hoping I can make them last as long as possible, and am looking forward to the next pair!
Review 12 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Aurora, CO
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

I am ten again and the fastest kid on the block.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
My Description: sweet
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5M
I love these shoes, i got the green ones and they are sweet. Thanks for taking me back in time.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: ASBURY PARK, NEW JERSEY
Size and Width Purchased: 10.50/W
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

"ONLY FOR THE KOOL CATS"

PostedMarch 12, 2013
My Description: smooth
Size and Width Purchased: 10.50/W
PRO KEDS WERE THE SNEAKER TO HAVE BACK IN THE 70'S.... LOVE THEM AND VERY GLAD TO OWN THEM NOW!!!!
WALI
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Pacific Northwest
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Runs slightly narrow and short. Had to go a 1/2 size larger for proper fit. Love the look, wore these when I was growing up. Comfortable.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Washington DC
Size and Width Purchased: 8M
Gender:Male

A Great Throwback Shoe

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
My Description: blast from the past
Size and Width Purchased: 8M
I was so excited when my shoes came! It took me back to when I got my first pair of Pro-Keds! Back then you didn't get shoes every two months so you had to make them last! :-) I can remember keeping them clean and thinking that made me run faster. But you were definitely in the incrowd if you had a pair. But I can get more than one pair at a time now that I'm an adult and I sure did!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Boston
Size and Width Purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great shoes

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Size and Width Purchased: 11
Def order a 1/2 size larger
These keds are my first foray into canvas shoes and I am extremely happy. They look great, feel great (though the back digs into my heel sometimes) and will probably last a while. The last point is very important especially since I bboy. For those bboys or bgirls out there... youll love these.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: East Hampton, CT
Size and Width Purchased: 10M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Just like when I was a kid.

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
My Description: authentic
Size and Width Purchased: 10M
The look, feel, and even the smell are the same as in 1973 when I got my first pair. The heels hurt then and they hurt now or just until you break them in then they are way more comfortable than thier 1970's competitors. Would recommend to anyone and will buy another pair when I wear these out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Pacific Northwest
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Nice Shoe

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
My Description: in-style
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5M
Shoe looks great but seems to run small and narrow. Over the last year, it has become hard to order because the sizing is not consistent. Quality of the shoe is great, just need to get sizes to come in consistently. I ordered the same size as always, and this time it was too small and too narrow. Will try next size up.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: Savannah GA Via NYC
Size and Width Purchased: 10
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Old School - Best School Ever

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 10
No sox. No bull. These are my fav, and am trying to get my kids on the ball ;)
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Royal Lo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Guilderland NY
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

excellent shoe and ordering experience

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5m
good quality, order a half size bigger for correct fit.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>