Keds Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Keds
Shop Royal Throwback or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Royal Hi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Keds.

Royal Hi

Introduced in 1949, the Royal was the original basketball style created by PRO-Keds. Known for its distinctive navy and red "powerstripes" and its thicker sole, it was endorsed by many basketball greats and playground legends. By the late 1970's, the Royal aka ("Super PRO-Ked") became the first classic sneaker on and off the courts of NYC.
Overall Rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Royal Hi
Review 1 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Florida
Size and Width Purchased: 10E
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Royal Hi-Black!

PostedJune 26, 2013
Size and Width Purchased: 10E
Solid item and solid purchase... great alternative to the Converse Chuck Taylor with better wear and classic style... Recommend this sneak for anyone who loves retro period sneaks or court games(handball//basketball/squash etc;)...
Review 2 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: bel air maryland
Size and Width Purchased: 13
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

great cool shoe

PostedMarch 31, 2013
My Description: awesome
Size and Width Purchased: 13
I am a nurse and need to wear white shoes...the white pro keds fir the bill quite nicely..I got them in a larger size because I wear two pair of thick sox because of all the standing I do. I find the pro keds awesome!!! the look is classic and style clean and "smoooth". I love wearing them to work and get alot of great comments about my KEDS..
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Wisconsin
Size and Width Purchased: 11
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Royal Hi's - Love the shoe, but disappointed with revised roundel location.

PostedMarch 29, 2013
My Description: great shoe, why the change?
Size and Width Purchased: 11
I love these shoes, but was disappointed to see PK's changing the traditional location of the ProKeds roundel from the inside (like Converse) to the outside (copying PF Flyers similar change).
To me, it now appears like I have my shoes on the wrong feet. When I cross my legs (guy style), the raised rubber roundel now presses into my leg. Seems to me like this was driven by marketing.
I hope PK's offer a "design-your-own" site (like Converse does) and offers the option for customers to position the roundel back to the traditional location. I also hope the custom site would allow for a gel insole option (I buy the shoes a size larger and inset aftermarket gel insoles). A wide width option would be great. I would pay extra for these options!
Other than that, I love the shoes!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Spring Hill, FL
Size and Width Purchased: 10 1/2 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great looks and they're TOUGH!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
My Description: superb, bronx-boy
Size and Width Purchased: 10 1/2 M
I love my "Flashback Footwear!" I'll be ordering some low-tops in a few weeks in different colors. Now I just have to find my PF Flyers on the Internet so that I'm be able to run faster and jump higher...LOL ;-) Not bad for a 52 year old New Yorkers huh?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Henryville. PA
Size and Width Purchased: 8.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Just like back in the day.

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 8.5
When I saw these, I flipped out. They're what I wore as a kid and teenager. I ordered them and when they got here, they were just like I remembered them. The fit and finish are there, great price. My other "sport shoes" are sulking in the corner closet. I wear these all the time, even to work. Great idea to bring them back.
 
Products Related to My Review
Royal Lo
4.8 out of 5(42)
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Old kool
From: NYC
Heel tap
Posted April 5, 2013
On the first page there's three Royals and the black ones appear to have the light blue tab on the heel. Did they go back to the blue tab (which would be GREAT!), or is the tab still white?
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Phoenix, AZ
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love them!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5
I bought these for my boyfriend who only wears authentic vintage clothing and he LOVED them! In fact, he went online himself and bought another pair. :) They look great with jeans and he gets compliments on them whenever he wears them. Thank you Keds!
Review 7 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: nokomis,florida
Size and Width Purchased: 12m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

great sneaker,needs a wide width a.s.a.p

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 12m
ive been wanting this sneaker since they stoped in the 70,s.!beats converce all stars by far,its about time they came back.smart move to pro keds inc..
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
1 Size Too Small
Width: 
Very Narrow
Customer avatar
From: ATL
Size and Width Purchased: 9m
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

This is a true winner

PostedOctober 13, 2012
My Description: perfect, original
Size and Width Purchased: 9m
I purchased this product for my husband as a gift. He loved the shoe. He said "this shoe takes me all the way back to when I was a kid". The throw back collection is a great idea. The shoe looks good and wears well. However, if you have a wide foot you may want to buy a size up.
Review 9 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Olympia, Washington
Size and Width Purchased: 13m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Shoe

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 13m
The last time I had a pair of royal highs on was around 1973, My twin brother also ordered some. That is going to be the official shoe of our 2013 Family Reunion, Thank you very much for bringing them back.
Review 10 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: new york
Size and Width Purchased: 10
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

comfortable, good looking ,and great sneaker

PostedJuly 28, 2012
My Description: awsomegreat looking, comfortable
Size and Width Purchased: 10
i love them brings back old times when i was a kid.i would like more people to notice what a great sneaker this is, i tell all my friends to get a pair we have to let people know about these pro keds!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Texas
Size and Width Purchased: 13M
Gender:Female
Yes, I recommend this product.

Worked great~

PostedJune 12, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 13M
I used these to make Captain America shoes for my boyfriend for his birthday and they worked perfectly! The canvas material is durable and worked wonderfully for this project.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: California
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Just like old times!

PostedJune 12, 2012
My Description: memorable, cool, classic
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5
When I saw the high top Pro Keds online all of my High School basketball memories came rushing back. I had a pair in 1971 and loved them. When I received the package and opened the box, I put them on, they fit perfectly and at least from the ankles down, I was a playground ball player again that was lookin' good. There is no school better than old school!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

I love Pro Keds

PostedJune 4, 2012
I must say that these throw backs are a great idea. People asked me were did I get these Pro Keds, because they have not seen them in years and they want to get a pair. what a smile I saw when they looked at my new Pro Keds.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Montclair, NJ
Size and Width Purchased: 9m
Gender:Male

Everyone in My Class Had a Pair!

PostedApril 18, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 9m
Back in 1976, I had a white pair just like these. In New Jersey at that time, Pro-Keds is what everyone had on their feet. To be honest, in that year most kids had a variation that had 3 stripes that wrapped around the side of rubber sole. We called those "New Yorkers". That made it easy for me to find my shoes after gym class, because on me and a girl in the class had the original Royal Hi versions.
For real sneaker collectors, these are a must have item.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Royal Hi
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Merritt Island
Size and Width Purchased: 12
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Old school

PostedApril 9, 2012
My Description: different, comfortable, traditional.
Size and Width Purchased: 12
They took me back 30years when i first got a pair in junior high. I just love them. they feel great on my feet. Gonna get me some more price is a little high, but u get ur moneys worth.
 
Products Related to My Review
Royal Hi
4.8 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
Royal Lo
4.8 out of 5(42)
 
 
 
 
 
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Keds Kollector
From: Bel air Md.
My Keds collection
Posted June 28, 2013
After I discoverd the come back of Keds, I looked everywhere on the internet and found the location to my my "old friends". I wore Keds when I was growing up and played alot of ball in those shoes. I loved the look. the feel and the support Keds gave and continue to give me. I have quite a colleton of both hi top and lo cut styles.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)