Keds Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Keds
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Royal Master Suede

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Keds.

Royal Master Suede

Originally released in 1972, the Royal Master was one the most well-known PRO-Keds basketball styles created. Featuring rich suede, double stripes, and padded collar, its unique design was known for both its performance elements as well as its style attributes. The Royal Master’s legacy was shaped by some of the most creative players in the game and made famous by the most creative personalities in the street.
Overall Rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Royal Master Suede
Review 1 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product.

Very nice sneakers

PostedJuly 6, 2013
My Description: comfortable
These sneakers look and feel great! I wish I had the funds to get another pair in a different color.
Review 2 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
Slightly Narrow
Customer avatar
From: Oak park,ca
Size and Width Purchased: 11m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Really nice looking shoe.

PostedMay 21, 2013
My Description: cool
Size and Width Purchased: 11m
The shoe is a bit snug for my feet, but it is a nice shoe.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: wendell nc
Size and Width Purchased: 11.5 m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

same great product I remembd from the 70's

PostedMay 16, 2013
My Description: comfortable
Size and Width Purchased: 11.5 m
glad to get my new shoes but sad to hear they are going away again .
Review 4 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
Slightly Wide
Customer avatar
From: decorah, iowa
Size and Width Purchased: 13m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

what i've waited decades for.

PostedApril 28, 2013
My Description: awesome
Size and Width Purchased: 13m
I wore these in high school and college. then they disappeared. i looked all over hoping to find them. all i found were the colored ones. i wanted the suede grey/white. i loved it when i saw the throwback on my computer and quickly ordered a pair. they are as awesome now as back then. i have flat feet and love the no-arch support. todays shoes all have that and they slay my feet. thank you. keep making them.
Review 5 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Houma, LA
Size and Width Purchased: 13.0 M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

The Best Ked ever sold

PostedMarch 19, 2013
My Description: great shoe!, perfect memory
Size and Width Purchased: 13.0 M
I remember working after school, saving birthday money etc. just to buy a new pair of Pro-Keds. They were offered in many Collegiate Colors combos as well as NBA team colors.
I wrote Keds for years asking for a re-release of this 70's classic. Thankfully they finally did. I have bought 10 pair for my kids, and myself. My girls wore them with school uniforms and loved everyday.
They fit great, Look even better. Thank you Thank you.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
1/2 Size Too Small
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: new york, ny
Size and Width Purchased: 9M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Amazing looking. 1/4 size too small.

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
My Description: hot
Size and Width Purchased: 9M
These kicks look fantastic. The suede is very cool, bisected by the double stripe. They feel pretty comfortable, though I think maybe half a size bigger would have been too large, so I'm stuck at a 9. Overall very happy with these, and looking forward to rocking them for years to come. Thanks Keds!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: LAS VEGAS
Size and Width Purchased: 10M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

GREAT SHOE!! FINALLY!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 10M
WHAT CAN I SAY? I'M A CHILD OF THE 60'S AND 70'S. AND, WHEN I LIKE SOMETHING, I LIKE IT!PERIOD! YOU GUYS FINALLY WOKE UP AND RE-RELEASED THE MOST POPULAR PRO KEDS EVER! I WORE THESE RELIGIOUSLY IN HIGH SCHOOL AS DID ALL OF MY FRIENDS.I'VE BOUGHT EVERY COLOR I COULD FIND IN RECENT YEARS. SOME OF THE REISSUES WERE GOOD AND SOME NOT SO GOOD. I BOUGHT EVERY COLOR A FEW YEARS AGO AT DILLARDS. THERE WAS A 3 COLOR REISSUE CALLED PRO KEDS FOR JEFFERY. THEY'RE NICE BUT SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT. THEY WERE A LOT HEAVIER. ALTHOUGH, I DID LIKE THE INNER LEATHER. BUT, THESE NEW THROWBACKS ARE WHAT I'VE REALLY BEEN WAITING FOR. FORGOT, I EVEN FOUND A STORE IN JAPAN A FEW YEARS AGO AND ORDERED A PAIR OF GREEN ONES FROM JAPAN. THE ONLY THING I WOULD DO IS KEEP THE PRODUCTION RUNNING. AT LEAST FOR A LITTLE WHILE. AND, LIKE THE OTHER GUY SAID, I'D LIKE TO SEE MORE COLORS ALSO. LIKE-- ROYAL BLUE, PURPLE ( I HAD THOSE WITH THE WHITE STRIPES). I ALSO REMEMBER A GOLD WITH BLACK STRIPES, KELLY GREEN AND A LIGHT BLUE SUEDE WITH NAVY STRIPES WOULD ALSO BE COOL. I'D REALLY LIKE THAT COOL PURPLE YOU USED TO MAKE. ANYWAY, LOVE THE SHOE SO KEEP IT UP.!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Atalis
From: Vancouver,WA
Pro Keds Royal Master Suede
Posted November 16, 2012
I loved this shoe as a kid growing up during the 70's. Pete Maravich wore them and he was one of my idols. Mom wouldn't let me get these at the time. I had to get the shoe everyone else on the team wore.
Please bring back more colors. I will purchase the gold with black stripes in a second. Not to mention that I will purchase the white ones and the black ones soon.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Customer avatar
nee.dragger
From: Moore, SC
I agree. . . .
Posted October 9, 2012
with everything VINNIEB writes. I would love to see more colors. Great shoes, glad you finally realized the Royal Suede Master's are THE PRO-Keds shoe everyone wants. But one thing about these shoes I have noticed over the years. Seems that the PowerStripes have moved further back on the shoe since they originally came out in the 1970's. I would like to see it moved more forward, which is back to the original position, to keep the connection with the original Royal Suede Master/Plus of the 70's era. Other than that, nothing wrong with them. As a matter of fact, I'm getting ready to order another pair or 2 of these shoes.
P.S. I have attached 2 pictures illustrating where the PowerStripes were back in the 1970's, in case you don't remember.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Rothschild, WI
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5M
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Nice looking classic multipurpose shoes

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Size and Width Purchased: 10.5M
After the suade Pro Keds first came out in 1972, they quickly became the shoes all the guys wanted to own a pair of. I always owned a pair of them from 5th grade in 1974 thru high school.
Rembering the time period I wore these shoes, brings back alot of fond memories. These shoes went with the days you never wore the same clothes twice in one week. The days of tight legged Levi jeans, corderoys and plad button colared long sleved shirts that had the sleves rolled up twice. Kids had long hair back then, but they were always clean and neat. The times in junoir high when guys were "going out" with girls but would never talk to them (LOL!). The times when we were all growing athletically too with our suade Pro Keds either on the court or in the weight room.
I was in need of a new pair of shoes and being frustrated with the styles and prices of the shoes now days, remembered the awesome Pro Keds I used to wear. I googled Pro Keds and was pleasantly suprised to find this site. I had to have a pair!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peter Lorre
From: Orlando, FL
Finally...They're Back!!!
Posted March 21, 2013
These are the best basketball shoes ever! I must've gone through 10-15 pairs of these as a kid. You'll see these on Pete Maravich's feet in every old photo--he wore them all the time, as did Nate Archibald.
Awesome sneakers!
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Spartanburg, SC
Size and Width Purchased: 10 m
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

Royal Master Suede (RMS)

PostedAugust 20, 2012
My Description: fun
Size and Width Purchased: 10 m
These shoes are awesome, and alwas have been. The new release is just great. The shoes look and feel the same as the did before. The suede is plush, and I like the colors. They are comfortable and felt right from the minute I put them one. Break in time was nill. With the new additions (I just bought 4 pairs), that brings the total of RMS' I own to 13 pairs. I also bought my girlfriend a pair of the white RMS' and she loves them.
I normally wear a size 10.5 in regular athletic shoes, but have always worn a size 10 in PRO-Keds. And with the recent release, the size has remained the same. However, before the Royal Masters were last discontinued, they came with a removeable insert or foot pad in the shoe. With the insert, they did offer a little bit more arch support. The new RMS' do not. They are like the original shoe from back in 1972 #yes, I'm old enough to remember those, I had several pair of RMS', as a teenager, back then. They were hard to come by back in 1972.#.
But the new RMS' are still comfortable and break in easily. I have worn these shoes for as long as I could find them, and will continue to wear PRO-Keds Royal Master Suede for as long as you make and sell them.
P.S. It would be great if you offered the RMS' in a green suede and a royal blue suede also. I'd buy those too.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GREENJOECOOL
From: ACOSTA PA.
ROYAL MASTER SUEDE
Posted August 22, 2012
GOLD SUEDE AND GREEN SUEDE IS WHAT I WOULD LIKE TO SEE ALSO THANK YOU.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Royal Master Suede
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size: 
True to Size
Width: 
True to Size
Customer avatar
From: Baltimore
Size and Width Purchased: 11.5
Gender:Male
Yes, I recommend this product.

A piece of heaven

PostedJuly 31, 2012
My Description: walking on a cloud
Size and Width Purchased: 11.5
Pro Keds this is a dream come true they are classic ,classy and a piece of shoe history i'm a sneaker head and i just found a piece of heaven I never thought id see the day when they would return mainly the classic but i must say i love the new styles you can't go wrong with Keds Old school or New school.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer avatar
nee.dragger
From: Moore, SC
To mark1074
Posted February 13, 2013
Yes, you're correct. The Royal Master Suede's originally had 3 stripes instead of 2 (and were called Royal Plus if I'm not mistaken). That was when the shoes first came out. What I think happened (and why PRO-Keds went to 2 stripes), shoe maker Adidas sued another shoe company for using 3 stripes on the side of their basketball shoes. Adidas claimed they were the first to use 3 stripes on each side and it was a representation of their brand name. Looking at the 3 stripes kind of like a patent with Adidas being the owner. So, Uniroyal Rubber (owner of Keds and PROKeds at the time) decided to eliminate one of the stripes to prevent some sort of legal action. Of course, with that change in the shoe, PRO-Keds created that distinctive look that only the Royal Masters have that has lasted and desired so many years later.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Customer avatar
mark1074
From: New Orleans, La
Great sneaker at great price
Posted November 22, 2012
These sneakers bring back a lot of great memories. My high school basketball team wore canvas (white / hightops) in 1973 and green suede Pro Keds in 1974 and 1975. We all wanted to be like Pete Maravich, so the Converse Chuck Taylor's were unacceptable. If I remember correctly, the sneakers had 3 stripes not 2 in the mid 70s. I just ordered a pair for my 19 year old son who thinks my Pro Keds are cool.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Customer avatar
GREENJOECOOL
From: ACOSTA PA.
PRO KEDS
Posted August 13, 2012
I LOVE PRO KEDS! I JUST WISH THEY WERE OFFERED IN SIZE 15. SIZE 14 FIT BUT 15 FIT ME BETTER. OH WELL I GO WITH THE FLOW.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter Digg MySpace
Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)